Two For Two For Dublin Minor Footballers In Leinster Championship

By May 9, 2019 No Comments

A second win for Jim Lehane’s Dublin Minor Footballers as they see off Wexford

Dublin Minor Footballers - Leinster Championship

Wexford 1-10
Dublin 3-12

A couple of early second half goals changed the course of this Leinster Minor Football Round 2 clash as Dublin remain unbeaten in the competition this far.

Fionn Murray hit the target twice following the half time break to help his side to the win despite having to play the majority of the game with only 14 men. Forward Ryan O’Dwyer was dismissed in the 12th minute but Wexford never capitalised on the advantage of the extra man.

With the wind at their backs Dublin got out of the traps and were 0-05 to no score by the second third of the opening session. Murray, who registered 2-06 on the night, had 2 early frees converted before a Data Fagan close range attempt hit the post. But Robbie Bolger recycled and turned the opportunity into a point.

With 5 minutes to play before the break Wexford had closed the gap to 2 scores. A couple of frees from Jack O’Leary frees and a score from play by Leigh Whelan got the Slaneysiders back in contention. But Bolger would swing the pendulum back in the 28th, dodging three defenders to send the ball low into the Wexford net. And with Murray and Sean Kinsella adding more score it gave Dublin 1-07 to 0-04 cushion at the break.

Second Half gets off to a flyer

Murray hit goal twice early in the second half to make the claw back more difficult for their opponents. The second of those ably assisted by Senan Forker and Bolger.

To their credit, Wexford kept the pressure on with scores from Joe Curtis, Ryan Connolly and a second from Whelan. And with 20 minutes to go the hosts needed 3 goals to draw level.

Fionn Murray’s response was to convert a difficult free but Wexford got a bit of the green when a defensive error by Dublin gifted Curtis a goal.

Ultimately Dublin were too strong for their opponents and scores from Murray, Fagan and substitute Luke Curran saw them finish with an eight score cushion.

Wexford Scorers:

Jack O’Leary 0-04 (2f, 1 ’45’)
Joe Curtis 1-01
Leigh Whelan 0-03 (1f)
Rory O’Connor 0-01
Ryan Connolly 0-01

Dublin Scorers:

Fionn Murray 2-06 (6f)
Robbie Bolger 1-03
Dara Fagan 0-01
Sean Kinsella 0-01
Luke Curran 0-01


1. Tom Kennedy
2. Leigh Newport
3. Brian Cushe
4. Eamon Doyle
5. Paddy Darcy
6. Jason Bolger
7. Leigh Whelan
8. Paul Deeney
9. Tom Kavanagh
10. Tomás Barron
11. Rory O’Connor
12. Shane Kehoe
13. Liam Doyle
14. Jack O’Leary
15. Ciaran Regan

Wexford Substitutions:

21. Joe Curtis for Barron (27)
23. Ryan Connolly for Bolger (30+3)
17. Liam Crowley for Kehoe (37)
24. Oisin Waters for Deeney (59).


1. Hugh O Sullivan
2. Conor Tyrell
3. Ben Millist
4. Conor Archer
5. Alex Watson
9. David O’Dowd
7. Jack Lundy
8. Harry Colclough
6. Senan Forker
10. Ryan O’Dwyer
11. Sean Kinsella
12. Fionn Murray
13. Dara Fagan
14. Luke Swan
15. Robbie Bolger

Dublin Substitutions:

17. Eoin Gannon for Archer (HT)
20. Luke Murphy-Guinane for Colclough (43)
18. Ben Harding for Lundy (48)
19. Kieran Conroy for Watson (54)
21. Luke Curran for Fagan (56)

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :